WGGB – Theatre Committee: Olwyn Whymark Awards. Dec 2019.

The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain (WGGB) presents its annual awards for the encouragement of new writing at the Royal Court Theatre, London, on Friday 8 February 2019.

The Olwen Wymark Awards, the brainchild of playwrights Mark Ravenhill and David James (former Chair of the WGGB Theatre Committee), were set up to give WGGB members the opportunity to publicly thank those who had given them a positive experience in new writing over the previous year.

They are named in honour of playwright Olwen Wymark, passionate supporter of WGGB and former Chair of the WGGB Theatre Committee, who died in 2013.

David James, organiser of the award since 2005, said: “The awards make a statement of how important encouragement is, based on the simple premise of saying ‘thank you’. Now in its 14th year, it is a bright spot on the Writers’ Guild’s annual calendar.”

The winners of the 14th annual awards can be found here: